Wake The Town
Stuck in Motion
Contemplative Reptile
  • International Edition
  • USA Edition
  • UK Edition
  • Australian Edition
  • Canadian Edition
  • Irish Edition
  • German Edition
  • French Edition
  • Singapore Edition
  • Spanish edition
  • Polish edition
  • Indian Edition
  • Middle East edition
  • South African Edition

Only One in the Room Reveals Finalists for Inaugural ‘Destroy This Brief’ Initiative


The collective is continuing its campaign to seriously champion diversity in advertising

Only One in the Room Reveals Finalists for Inaugural ‘Destroy This Brief’ Initiative

The Only One In The Room collective has revealed 10 finalists for the inaugural ‘Destroy this Brief’ initiative, which launched in 2022 to tackle the industry’s prevalent diversity and inclusion challenges. 

The brief asked participants to find ways to open the industry up to, and attract, diverse talent.

The diversity and inclusion initiative saw 108 high-calibre entries from across both the industry and globe, with the 10 finalist ideas consisting of talent from agencies including The Hallway, Hero, Ogilvy, BMF, Special, and Cocogun:

  • A Bechdel Test for Advertiser - Anna Bollinger
  • Ad School Module - Priya Addams Williams
  • Another Dave Another Dollar - Jessica Thompson
  • Creative Republic - Letizia Bozzolini
  • *Joint Shortlist* Extending Adland - Priya Addams Williams
  • *Joint Shortlist* Location Meets Vocation - Jimmy Williams and Elena Macdonald
  • Mad Things - Anneliese Sullivan and Melle Branson
  • Parental Ad-visors - Leila Cranswick and David Roberts
  • Refugee Pencil - Carl Robertson and Blake Arthur
  • White Dad Adoption Drive - Rees Steel

The 10 entries will progress to the second round of judging, where a star-studded global industry jury will cut them down to a shortlist of five, which will be announced the week commencing the 6th of February. The jury comprises of:

  • Cindy Gallop, founder & CEO MakeLoveNotPorn and diversity advocate 
  • Jonathan Mildenhall, former Airbnb & Coke CMO, Founder TwentyFirstCenturyBrand  
  • Terry Savage, The Marketing Academy & London International Awards global chair 
  • Greg Hahn, CCO and co-founder of Mischief USA
  • Sunita Gloster, non-executive director & advisor at Gloster Advisory, B&T industry champion of change 2022
  • Faycal Benabdellaziz, head of group brand at NAB

The five shortlisted entrants will then be invited to present their ideas live to the jury.

Avish Gordhan, co-founder and jury chair of Only One In The Room and Chief Creative Officer at Dentsu Creative, said: “We've been blown away by the quality and quantity of submissions we received for the inaugural #DestroyThisBrief. Thank you to everyone who took the time to put their minds to this challenge. The energy, creativity, and enthusiasm we’ve seen on this brief is exactly what is needed to make a lasting and meaningful difference to diversity and inclusion in the industry.”

view more - Awards and Events
Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.
LBB Uploads, Sun, 29 Jan 2023 23:27:01 GMT