Get your own Little Black Book.

Build your own personal news stream. Discover the latest work created that interests you, share your favourite stories and follow your favourite people and companies

Already have an account?

Awards and Events

Brilliant Filmmaking, Brilliant Longlist from 1.4 Awards, 3 years, 3 months ago

1.4 sets out to find 'sharpest, smartest directors' at next week's event

Brilliant Filmmaking, Brilliant Longlist from 1.4 Awards

Leading visual culture website 1.4 today announced the long list for the inaugural 1.4 Awards for Brilliant Filmmaking.  

Winners will be announced at a special awards supper and party in Shoreditch Studios on 17th September. 

1.4 curator Lyndy Stout says: “We’ve been completely blown away by the number of entries and the extraordinary directing talent – whether it’s from film students, new directors,   those on the cusp of greatness or already established directors.

"We will announce our shortlist and winners on Sept 17th.  The shortlist and winners will be shown in our showcase at the Awards event and go up on the 1.4 site later in that week. 

"1.4 will be also selecting a limited number of emerging directors in a special online One to Watch showcase and will track their work throughout the year. And of course we will be profiling many of the directors who have entered the show.”

1.4 received over 500 entries, making the cut has been a challenge and a joy.  So much talent.  So little time.

The full long list of directors is below.

The 1.4 Awards will establish a new benchmark for the sector  and the talent that makes it so vibrant . There are no categories, no judging panels, the films are simply assessed on their brilliance, the winning entries are made by who 1.4 considers to be the sharpest, smartest directors.  

Tickets for the awards are available here.

Full longlist:

Ada Bligaard Søby  •  AG Rojas  •  Amos Le Blanc  •  Andreas Bruns  •  Aoife McArdle  •  Bernd Fass  •  Bjorn Ruhmann  •  Bob Harlow  •  BRTHR  •  Calum MacDiarmid  •  Camilla Mantovani  •  CANADA  •  Carlos Lopez Estrada  •  Chris Hutchison  •  Clayton Vomero  •  Colin Tilley  •  CRCR  •  Crowns and Owls  •  Cyprien Clement-Delmas  •  Damian Weilers  •  Daniel Brereton  •  Daniel Wolfe  •  David Wilson  •  Dawn Shadforth  •  Dent de Cuir  •  Dexter Navy  •  Djawid Hakimyar  •  Dvein  •  Ed Morris  •  Eliot Rausch  •  Ellis Bahl  •  Emile Sornin  •  Ernest Desumbila  •  Ewoudt Boonstra  •  Fabian Driehorst & Fred Schuld  •  Factory Five  •  FACTS  •  Fermin Cimadevilla  •  Fleur & Mano  •  Francois Rousselet  •  Gabriel Borgetto  •  George Belfield  •  Georgia Hudson  •  Glen Paton  •  Greg & Lio  •  Greg Davenport  •  Hamish Rothwell  •  Hanna Maria Heidrich  •  Helmi  •  Hiro Murai  •  Hoku & Adam  •  Ian Pons Jewell  •  Ismael Moumin  •  JACK  •  Jack Whitely  •  Jakarno  •  Jakob Rorvik  •  Jenn Nkiru  •  Joe Ramsden  •  Jones  •  Tino  •  Karen Cunningham  •  Kendy Ty  •  Kenneth Mercken  •  Kim Gehrig  •  Kinopravda  •  Lasse Martinussen  •  Los Perez  •  Ludovic  Zuili  •  Maegan Houang  •  Marcal Fores  •  Marie Kristiansen  •  Marion Dupas  •  Martin Garde Abildgaard  •  Martin Stirling  •  Matyas Fara  •  Max Weiland  •  Michael Marantz  •  Milton Kremer  •  Nathalie Canguilhem  •  Nathan Price  •  Nez  •  Nick Ball  •  Ninian Doff  •  NYSU  •  Ollie Wolf  •  Olly Williams  •  Omar Hilal  •  Pablo Maestres  •  Parachutes  •  Paul Gerwien  •  Paul Murphy  •  Pedro  •  Pensacola  •  Peter Vacz  •  Philippe Tempelman  •  Raoul Paulet  •  Remy Cayuela  •  Rodrigo Saavedra  •  Salomon Ligthelm  •  Salsa  •  Sam Coleman  •  Sam Pilling  •  Shaun Higton  •  Simon Cahn  •  Stephen Hilpert  •  Terri Timely  •  The Layzells  •  Thibaut Grevet  •  Tim McCourt, Max Taylor, Wesley Louis  •  Tomas Mankovsky  •  Truman & Cooper  •  Vincent Haycock  •  Young Replicant  •  Zak Stoltz 

Sign up to our newsletters and stay up to date with the best work and breaking ad news from around the world.